Tasted: The cold blast continues: Caipirinha’s to the rescue!!

The other day I had to clear snow off my car, it was March 28th. Ummmm

MjAxNC00N2JkYTFjYzgxNGVkM2Vj

The weather is calling for more cold weather and I want to wear my cute summer dresses with my new vans. Woe is me. How does one get over that winter blues?

With Caipirinha’s of course!
(pronounced kie-purr-REEN-yah)

Crank up that thermostat, clear the cob webs from your summer wardrobe, and mix yourself my favourite summer drink. I’m told Caipirinha roughly translates to “country bumpkin”, maybe so but it also translates to warm sunny days in a glass for me.

The details of how I came to encounter this delightful drink is a little blurry. Apparently, even in my most hazy of moments I still like to venture into the unknown. I could of either pointed to the freaky straw adorned bottle and inquired about its contents. Or maybe he just thought I should try it… who knows but what he did produced was like little alcoholic fairies dancing on my tongue. Honestly this man is amazing. If your ever in Wanaka, New Zealand head down to Lala Land and see Shannon. He has great insight on all things alcoholic. Legend.

Needless to say this drink is on the strong side and rapidly got coined “Saurus juice”.

Here’s a basic recipe:
Ingredients:
1 lime, quartered
2 tsp fine sugar
2 ounces cachaca
(I usually go for this guy. Mainly because of the Kenny Rogers like character on the bottle but also because the Prata style’s pure flavours better lends itself to the mix.)

tenda-gastronomia-cachaça-ypióca-cachaça-em-mossoró-tipos-de-cachaça-degustação-de-cachaças-como-tomar-cachaça-9

Preparation:
Place the lime wedges and sugar into an old-fashioned glass.
Muddle well.
Fill the glass with ice cubes.
Pour in the cachaca.
Stir well.

Cachaça’s history dates back to the 16th century when Cachaça achieved a valued status. “Cachaça is defined in Brazilian law as a beverage with an alcohol content of 38-54% by volume, made from the distillation of fermented sugarcane juice. Distillers may add sugar to the product, at a rate of up to 6 grams per liter. Beverages containing more than 6 grams of sugar per liter must be labeled sweet cachaça.” -http://drinks.seriouseats.com
It’s made of a sugar cane base but difference itself from rum by using fresh sugar cane juice instead of molasses. Hence the fresh crips flavours associated with Cachaça.
Sure white rums are made in a similar style, but they ain’t no Saurus juice.

1608894_10153712608685338_1437067795_n

Enjoy xo

 

Leave a Reply

